Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

Bags are in process, with the receipts of my new walking shoes and the necessary documents strewn across my room.  It’s absorbing….. the packing, the reading, the emailing, the secret fear my new school is actually an internet organ harvesting scheme.  A million details demand immediate attention.

At least these details, though, are familiar (except perhaps for the organ harvesting).  And it’s the stories about the details that make an important life.  That time you mailed me my prescription and a playlist.  How we would eat Gardettos in the middle of the night during finals week.  Debating politics over coffee.  Road trips.  Discussions during baking.  All these things worked their way into the mundane details of my life, and through proximity, we became friends.

Now, although the familiarity and proximity are going away, I want you to know that you guys are with me with every chapter I read.  I imagine your commentary and your counter arguments.  Your cutting one liners, your inflammatory statements, your understated answers.  More than you know, you have shaped the way I think, and I am immensely grateful. 

Here’s the deal.  I still need you.  Though you guys are diverse, you are morally grounded in a way most people don’t think of these days, and I need you to help me think.  I want a judgment-free blog where I can hash out the details of what it means to think like a Christian.  Are you in?

*Most of these posts probably won’t be this sentimental.  Sorry about that.  What can I say?  I miss you guys.

5 comments on “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

  1. Kara says:

    I certainly wasn’t feeling sentimental. *sniff* I was just slicing onions. On my laptop…

  2. joshkaasik says:

    I expect more frequent posts.. just saying 😀
    I gotta keep an eye on what they’re teachin’ you over there in yurip! (Europe in southernese)

  3. joshuakaasik says:

    Oh, also, onze.

  4. bahhh! i agree with josh :0)

  5. Alexie says:

    I’m in! I’m looking forward to vicariously living through you. Oh and also helping you think 😉 Kara’s comment made me literally laugh out loud!

Leave a Reply

