For My Adoring Public……both of you

Hi guys,

Since my posting has been a bit remiss of late, I thought I’d give you a 2-for-1 special, 2 posts for the price of 1 today.  I’m currently nicely installed at Chloe’s house.  This happened earlier than expected because of my school did not tell me I was not allowed to use interim housing when they weren’t finding my apartment for me (but that’s another story).  I miss my independence a little bit, but the Plaines are extremely good to me.  And the food is amazing (roast chicken, BREAD, sole meuniere, pastry)!  I may even learn to like fish here, and that is saying a lot.  I’m hoping in the coming months I can find ways to make myself useful, as I kind of feel uncomfortable receiving all the time.  They really are too good to me (despite the fact that I get teased a lot).

It is fun to be at a school where people can locate Burundi on a map, talk about the politics of famine in Somalia, and speak more than 1 language.  It’s like living the pages of the Economist, which makes me all kinds of happy.  At the same I miss being able to discuss the theology of the reformers and make II Tim feminist jokes.  Also, sometimes alcohol still makes me uncomfortable, even though I know a lot of that is cultural.  Definitely a big change from ORU.

Sunday I visited Hillsong Church Paris, and I liked it a lot.  I miss BCC and the small church feel, but I’m determined not to let theology department snobbery influence my decisions (haha).  I need other Christians desperately, and the people here seem genuine and connected.  I’ve gotten several texts from people I met there already.  More on church to come later…

I’m still trying to figure out what I think about Palestine’s upcoming petition to the UN (they are asking for official statehood).  If you know any details about this, let me know.

This is what I’ve been thinking about this week.  What are you guys learning and thinking about?   Inquiring minds want to know!

4 comments on “For My Adoring Public……both of you

  1. Alexie says:

    I know nothing about Palestine’s upcoming petition to the UN. I should read more about current events. “It’s like living the pages of the Economist.” You would think that after seeing you jump up and down and cheer every time the Economist arrived for a whole year, I would be interested in cracking open its pages to see what hidden treasures were inside, but no. I have had no such interest until reading this paragraph. I am very American.
    Which creates my segue into what I have been thinking about and learning. I have been thinking about how our country is so obsessed with material things and appearances. I especially have been observing through clinical research (*cough*reality tv*cough*) how women seem to be completely caught up with looking outwardly beautiful with no interest in developing their minds and growing as PEOPLE. It’s sad and it kind of makes me sick.
    I recently read a very interesting article about how women are conditioned from a very young age to be focused on their looks. One of the first things people say to a little girl is “Well aren’t you a cutie?” or something along those lines. The article suggested readers talk to little girls in ways that encourage them to think and use their minds. If you’re interested in reading the article, you can check it out here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lisa-bloom/how-to-talk-to-little-gir_b_882510.html?ref=fb&src=sp%22.

    Also, I just now learned the correct spelling of “segue.” Yup. I was one of those who thought it was spelled “segway.” And every time I have read the word “segue” in a book or article, I pronounced it as “segee” or “segoo” in my head. I never was good at pronunciation…

  2. Kara says:

    So glad to hear your settling in! My mouth is watering for various French foods, except the one that my poor Americanized mind can only read is as “soul manure.” You may keep that particular dish.
    As for the U.N./Palestinian statehood issue, I can’t see that any good could possibly come of it. For one, none of region’s problems–virulent anti-semitism, violence, conflicting religious beliefs–will be solved by some distant body’s drawing a new line on the map. Add to that the uncomfortable fact that the U.N. has historically been strongly anti-Israel. For example, did you know that, in the past year, 145 “human rights” actions were taken against Israel, and only 50 against the (second place) Sudan? Is that even conceivably justifiable?
    Also, there’s this: http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/276011/palestinian-leaders-seek-un-s-blessing-clifford-d-may
    Alexie, great link! Also, if I’d known clinical research were so simple, I would have become a psychologist.

  3. Victoria says:

    I do that every time I see segue! It’s so weird. I’m going to have to read both of your articles soon. I’m really excited about them. Alexie, I’m excited about reading more of your blog too. Maybe we should all become psychologists together and analyze Survivor?

  4. lexzuri says:

    Haha, maybe! I think that would be a hilariously fun “project” hee hee.

Leave a Reply

