I get paid to read the Economist…..

It’s true.   Goes hand in hand with my new research assistant job!  I get to research both the progress (or lack thereof)  of the UN’s Millennium Development Goals and the German and Finnish responses to the Greek/Eurozone financial crisis.  Sometimes this interferes with my social life, but hey, I’m getting paid to learn.   So, if you know anything about German or Finnish politics, or can help me get a clearer picture of the Euro economy, let me know.  I would love to hear your opinions.  Till then I’ll just keep reading the Economist (or BBC or NY Times or Der Spiegel).

3 comments on “I get paid to read the Economist…..

  1. colleenhopes says:

    I could tell you SO MUCH about German and Finnish politics. As long as you don’t mind it being made up.

  2. Colleen, I think your rendition would definitely be worth reading, especially if it bears any resemblance to our History of Canadian Thanksgiving.

  3. lexzuri says:

    I know that Finland does not like Sweden. I had a friend who was a foreign exchange student from Finland my senior year in high school and she said she thought it was ridiculous that when she told someone she was from Finland they would say, “Oh that’s right next to Sweden! I’m swedish. Are you at all Swedish? What do you think of the Swedes?” “Yup, it’s next to Sweden. Cool that you’re Swedish, I’m finnish, from Finland. We don’t care for the swedes, but I do know how to speak some Swedish.” That’s the extent of my knowledge of Finnish politics. I know even LESS about German politics. Also, the finnish language is extremely hard to learn. I tried. I don’t even remember how to say hello. Sad. On the other hand, I know how to tell a story about a flower and a boy trying to woo the flower in German. It’s a song, so I’d have to sing it. It wouldn’t be the same if I just spoke it. 🙂 But that really has nothing to do with politics. I guess my complete avoidance of politics, national and international, has finally caught up with me! I should go read the economist…

Leave a Reply

